Insanity or Hope

Einstein defines insanity as doing the same thing over and over again, yet expecting different results.

This saying from Einstein got me wondering about life as an unemployed person and secondly as an unemployed graduate. I live for job application, applying for jobs is the first thing I do when I wake up and the last thing I do before bed. Before I can even do my morning prayer, I check my emails, I apply all throughout the day and yet I’m still jobless. I mean I’ve been job hunting for over a year and a half now, surely something must have paid off by now.

Maybe I am hopeful, maybe its hope that wakes me up every morning to apply to yet another job or search for more jobs and job sites to apply to. Maybe it is hope that tells me to put aside my dreams and focus on getting a job, after all getting a job is what would make a person. Getting a job is the reason I went to varsity and getting a job was all I ever dreamt about in varsity.

So, I wonder, am I insane or am I just a hopeful. Is Einstein right or is hope worth a try. I mean what is it in my head that makes it ok for me to continue with this kind of behaviour, what is it that makes it ok for me to waste my energy, time and money on applying for jobs that aren’t there to begin with.  Why do I think its ok to put off living life in the name of “investing”? How is it even an investment to keep doing the same thing over and over again without any guarantee of proper returns?

Am I insane or am I just hopeful?

Is it hopefulness or insanity that tells me its ok to quit living and use my whole substance to beg for a job?

And now I ask my fellow unemployed graduates; are we hopeful or just insane?

Click here to find out more  About me

 

 

7 thoughts on “Insanity or Hope

  1. Hey I’ve just replied to your first friday comment! I absolutely love your writing style and, if no one has said this to you already, welcome to the world o’ blogging!! Your writing style is really engaging and your post is really well written – my only advice would be to personalise your ‘About’ page a little more so we can get to know who’s writing these brilliant posts!

    Also, feel free to use my Community Tab as well so my followers can find your content too! 🙂 https://nonalcoholicstudent.wordpress.com/community/

    Hope to see you over there sometime 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment